2015 MPSE Golden Reel Awards Set for February 15

Studio City, California –
December 22, 2014 – The Motion Picture Sound
(MPSE) today announces that it will honor Academy Award-nominated
director Darren Aronofsky with its annual Filmmaker Award. The director of Noah, Black Swan, The Wrestler and
other films is being recognized for his outstanding contributions to the art of
cinema. He will be presented with the award at the 62nd MPSE Golden
Reel Awards, February 15, 2015 in Los Angeles.
President Frank Morrone described Aronofsky as a master storyteller whose work
exhibits a strong creative vision, and bold visual and audio style. “Darren
Aronofsky’s films are both challenging and immensely entertaining, as evidenced
by their critical acclaim and box office success,” Morrone said. “We are
extremely excitied to honor his achievements by selecting him for our
prestigious Filmmaker Award.”

Aronofsky says, “One of the first
reasons I was inspired to become a filmmaker was the exciting possibilities of
experimenting with sound, so it is an incredible feeling to be honored by the
MPSE. Sound dreams, sound emotes, and most importantly sound is what often
saves my ass.”
Darren Aronofsky

The MPSE Filmmaker Award is
presented to extraordinary filmmakers who embody the spirit, the vigor and
innovation of storytelling. Previous recipients of the award include Brian
Grazer, Steven Spielberg and Ang Lee.
Darren Aronofsky’s latest film, Noah, was released to widespread
critical praise in March of 2014 and grossed $363 million worldwide. Starring
Russell Crowe, Anthony Hopkins, Jennifer Connelly, and Emma Watson, it is an
adaptation of the story of Noah’s ark. Richard Roeper called it “one of the
most dazzling and unforgettable Biblical epics ever put on film.” Aronofsky’s
previous film, Black Swan, won
Natalie Portman the Academy Award for Best Actress and received four additional
nominations, including for Best Picture and Best Director. The Wrestler, which appeared in 2008,
premiered at the Venice Film Festival where it won the esteemed Golden Lion,
making it only the third American film in history to win this grand prize. The
film garnered Academy Award nominations for both Mickey Rourke and Marisa
Tomei, and won Golden Globes for Rourke for his iconic performance and for
Bruce Springsteen for his original track The
. Aronofsky’s earlier credits include the acclaimed films The Fountain, Requiem for a Dream and π.
About MPSE
Founded in 1953,
the Motion Picture Sound Editors is a
non-profit organization of professional sound and music editors who work in the
motion pictures and television industry. The organization’s mission is to
provide a wealth of knowledge from award winning professionals to a diverse
group of individuals, youth and career professionals alike; mentoring and
educating the community about the artistic merit and technical advancements in
sound and music editing; providing scholarships for the continuing advancement
of motion picture sound in education; and helping to enhance the personal and
professional lives of the men and women who practice this unique craft.
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com