Studio City, California – The Motion Picture Sound Editors (MPSE) have
elected Tom McCarthy as President. McCarthy is an Academy Award- and BAFTA
Award-winning Sound Supervisor and longtime industry executive. He currently
serves as Executive Vice President Post Production Facilities at Sony Pictures
Studios. He succeeds Frank Morrone.
Supervising Sound Editor Glenn T. Morgan was elected
Secretary. He succeeds Chris Reeves. McCarthy and Morgan join continuing
officers Mark Lanza, Vice President; Paul Rodriguez, Treasurer and Jeremy J.
Gordon, Sergeant at Arms.
McCarthy describes his new role with MPSE as an opportunity
to give back to an industry that he has worked in for nearly four decades. “I
want to encourage more members to become involved in MPSE activities, including
running for board positions,” he said. “I will also work to increase
recognition for the art of entertainment sound, and the contributions sound
editors make to motion pictures, television, games and other media.”

Tom McCarthy
McCarthy adds that MPSE is planning to expand its series of
sound seminars and to create new educational opportunities for students and
young professionals. “We see the MPSE as a forum where veteran sound
professionals can share insights and advice with other members to improve their
skills and grow their careers.”
Outgoing president, Frank Morrone, notes that MPSE has made
substantial progress in its mission to promote the craft of sound editors. “It
was an honor to serve as president of the organization during such an exciting
time for sound,” Morrone said. “Sound editors are employing their skills in new
ways and in new mediums, and MPSE has supported them through our educational
programs, industry outreach and annual Golden Reel awards competition.”
In addition to the new officers, MPSE elected several
candidates to board seats.  Steve Urban,
Steve Avila, Mike Draghi, Solange Schwalbe, Bernard Weiser and Mandell Winter
were elected to the Film Board. Mark Jasper, William Dannevik and Chris Reeves
were elected to the Television Board. Charles
Deenen was elected to the Game Cinematics Board.  Avila, Draghi, Schwalbe, Weiser, Winter,
Dannevik, Reeves and Deenen were incumbents.

About MPSE
The MPSE is a non-profit organization whose mission is to
provide a wealth of knowledge from award-winning professionals to a diverse
group of individuals, youth and career professionals alike; mentoring and
educating the community about the artistic merit and technical advancements in
sound and music editing; providing scholarships and mentorship for the
continuing advancement of motion picture sound in education; and helping to
enhance the personal and professional lives of the men and women who practice
this unique craft.
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :